Preface

Dear Colleagues,

On behalf of the Organizing Committee, I am delighted to present the proceedings from the ISRM International Symposium EUROCK 2012 in Stockholm entitled "Rock Engineering & Technology for Sustainable Underground Construction". EUROCK 2012 also marks the 50th anniversary of ISRM.

The importance of rock and underground structures to Swedish society was obvious to



the participants of EUROCK 2012, primarily for our mines and important infrastructure projects.

The papers from the technical programme offers a wide range of topics to you; from Laboratory Testing and Material Methods at one end to LCC and Risk Management at the other. We expect that the papers presented in these digital proceedings improve knowledge to you and by exchanging and sharing information also brings knowledge to others.

The extensive voluntary work that has been performed by committees, the team of reviewing experts and others is necessary to realise the International Symposium and is much appreciated.

Finally, I would to thank all the contributing authors, sponsors and exhibitors.

Per Tengborg Symposium Chair





Table of Contents

Preface

Organization

Rocha Medal Lecture

ISRM Lecture

Keynote Lectures

Geological Site Characterization

Rock Excavation

Rock Support

Environmental Aspects

Material Models

Mining Rock Mechanics

Laboratory Testing

Design Methods

Hydrogeology and Grouting

Maintenance, LCC and Risk Management

Author Index

Search

Organization

Scientific Committee

Prof. Håkan Stille, Chairman, Royal Institute of Technology
Prof. Torleif Dahlin, Lund University
Adj. Prof. Lars-Olof Dahlström, NCC
Dr. Thomas Dalmalm, Swedish Transport Administration
Prof. Lars O Ericsson, Chalmers University of Technology
Dr. Jenny Greberg, Luleå University of Technology
Dr. Eva Hakami, Geosigma
Adj. Prof. Ulf Håkansson, Skanska
Dr. Fredrik Johansson, Royal Institute of Technology
Prof. Charlie Li, Norwegian University of Science and Technology
Dr. Roger Olsson, Norwegian Geotechnical Institute
Adj. Prof. Jonny Sjöberg, Itasca Consultants

Organizing Committee

Per Tengborg, Chairman, Rock Engineering Research Foundation Eva Rydén, Secretary General, Eurock 2012 Rolf Christiansson, Swedish Nuclear Fuel and Waste Management Eva Friedman, Rock Engineering Research Foundation David Luterkort, Swedish Geotechnical Institute Bengt Ludvig, Petro Team Engineering Katarina P. Nilsson, Geological Survey of Sweden

International Advisory Committee

Xia-Ting Feng, President ISRM, The Chinese Academy of Sciences, Wuhan, China Tarcisio B. Celestino, University of São Paulo, Brazil Mark Diederichs, Queen's University, Canada Claus Erichsen, WBI, Germany Abdolhadi Ghazvinian, Tarbiat-Modares University, Iran Giovanni Grasselli, University of Toronto, Canada Nuno Grossmann, ISRM, Portugal John A. Hudson, Imperial College, UK Luís Lamas, Secretary General, ISRM, Portugal Derek Martin, University of Alberta, Canada Anthony Meyers, Rocktest Consulting, Australia Frederic Pellet, University of Lyon, France Yves Potvin, University of Western Australia Mikael Rinne, Aalto University, Finland Ove Stephansson, Steph Rock Consulting, Berlin, Germany Graham Swan, Rock Mechanics & Mine Design, Canada Ernesto Villaescusa, Curtin University, Australia

Review Committee

Åsa Fransson, Chalmers University of Technology Lars Hässler, Golder Associates Lars Jacobsson, SP Technical Research Institute of Sweden Jan Johansson, Naturgasteknik Erik Johansson, Saanio & Riekkola, Finland Kristina Jonsson, Rana Gruber, Norway Harald Hökmark, Clay Technology Flavio Lanaro, Swedish Radiation Safety Authority Bo Lind, Swedish Geotechnical Institute Ulf Lindblom, Gecon Beatrice Lindström, Swedish Transport Administration Lars Malmgren, LKAB Per-Ivar Marklund, Boliden Mineral Raymond Munier, Swedish Nuclear Fuel and Waste Management Lars Olsson, Geostatistik Håkan Schunnesson, Luleå University of Technology Leif Stenberg, Swedish Nuclear Fuel and Waste Management Robert Sturk, Skanska-Vinci Henrik Szentes, Strability Carl-Olof Söder, Sweco